SPIRITUALITY

Three Things I’ve Learned from Listening to Near-Death Experiences

Chantal Gaudiano Whittington
5 min readApr 29, 2023

The method I use to learn about God.

Photo by Casey Horner on Unsplash

I’ve never been a New Agey person or an extremely religious one, despite the deep affection I have for my church and church family. I don’t go around quoting Bible verses, and I don’t ask people if they know Jesus. I can’t stand people who do that.

I think that atheism is a valid and necessary step in a person’s spiritual journey. I know most atheists would tell me that atheism is the end of the journey, but no, to me it is a crucial step along the path. How can you truly believe in something if you have not first questioned its existence and examined it from all sides?

I’ve been fascinated by near-death experiences (NDEs) for a while, and I’ve discovered that YouTube is a treasure trove of them. Between YouTube and non-fiction books I’ve read about them lately, my interest in NDEs has grown considerably, to the point where I began to wonder what I should do for others with this interest of mine. I still don’t know the answer to that question.

I’ve never had an NDE, and I don’t really consider myself to be psychic. I think I was more psychic in my childhood; I just knew things.

--

--

Chantal Gaudiano Whittington

Chantal writes about disabilities, spirituality, stock investing--and life in general.